cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First time International Travel advice (UK)

City Slicker

First time International Travel advice (UK)

Hello Barclayers!!!

I just joined the travel community, 1) to earn some extra points and 2) To get some useful advice about my upcoming trip and well traveling in general. I'm a novice when it comes to travel, domestically(in the US) I've been to 3 states besides the one I live in and of course road trips within my own state. I decided at the beginning of this year that it was time for me to take my first solo trip Internationally and I chose the place that I've wanted to go to since I was 9 years old: London, England!

I've done a whole bunch of research, reading various travel blogs and articles to get ready for it. Now this may sound crazy or smart, you pick, but I don't leave until November so I have a good 10 months before take off. So I welcome all types of advice, the more the merrier I always say!

Let the forum begin! :D

7 Replies
Stately Explorer

Re: First time International Travel advice (UK)

In my opinion, skip Harrods.  I got dragged there by the group I went with and the sandwiches were expensive and not that spectacular, and it's still just another Macy's.  My high school english teacher is over there right now and gave good reviews of the Bombay Distillery, Cahoots bar (just opened), and he took a Dickens walking tour where he actually learned something new he didn't already know.

Stately Explorer

Also, if you haven't read any **bleep** Francis books, pick up a couple of them to read (Shattered is one of my favorites), and try to go to a horse race http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_British_National_Hunt_races.  It's on my bucket list of things to do.

Stately Explorer

Upon further review, the author got bleeped.  His name is D. i.c.k Frances.

@Kati_D is there a way to legitimately post someone named D.i.c.k? without it getting bleeped beyond saying a nickname for Richard?