cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best Warm cities in US for winter vacation?

Internationally Known

Best Warm cities in US for winter vacation?

Living in the frozen tundra of the midwest, we try to take a vacation somewhere warm every winter if we can. We have been to southern California twice and we have family & friends in Arizona and Florida, so we typically end up in one of those states, but looking to try something different.  Any suggestions? I love historical cities and walkable cities, and beaches and/or hiking are always a plus, but not necessary --really open to any ideas for someplace that has temps ideally 60 or above in the winter.  I should also add, that I'm not ruling out AZ, FL or CA. We haven't been to several areas in Florida that look interesting... St. Augustine, The Keys, or anywhere in Southern Florida. 

16 Replies
Internationally Known

Re: Best Warm cities in US for winter vacation?

Trips4me,  I’m far from an expert on Texas but from what I understand the weather on the Gulf coast is good in the winter.  Or there are other locations in Texas that have historical sites to visit.  I have only looked into a visit or two for the future.  Years past I’ve been to Houston, Dallas and El Paso but it’s been many years so I have no recommendations.  Maybe other Community members can shed some more light on this topic for you.  Happy researching and good travels.

Internationally Known

Thanks for the response. I have a friend currently in South Padre, TX. I'll be curious to hear what she thinks about it when she gets back. I was also looking into Savannah, GA, Charleston, SC and New Orleans, LA, three states we haven't been to yet.  I just started researching today. 

Highlighted
Internationally Known

I was about to suggest New Orlean before I saw you're considering it.  It's usually plenty warm in winter, and everything is so unusual and different about it, the vibe, food, music, etc.

Internationally Known