cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tips on Earning More Points?

County Wise

Tips on Earning More Points?

Hi, I'm new to the travel community and new to "earning travel points." Does anyone have any good tips or suggestions on how to stack up more rewards? For example, someone gave me the tip to use the rewards card to buy gift cards at a grocery store that offers fuel discounts points.  I buy starbuck's gift cards with by Arrival MasterCard to get fuel points and earn stars on their app.  

21 Replies
Highlighted
Nationally Recognized

Re: Tips on Earning More Points?

Book your travel through the Barclay's Rewards Boost site. It's not as straightforward as it could be, so here's how to do it. Let's say you're booking airfare.

1. Starting at home page, click Rewards Boost "Shop Now"
  2. In the little blue box on the left side, click "All Online Stores."
  3. This brings up a panel labeled "Shop by Category."  Hover the mouse over Travel.
  4. From the popup menu, select "Flights" 
  5. FINALLY you are at the payoff screen. You'll see a bunch of 3rd-party booking sites like Expedia, Travelocity,  with an "Earn Rate" next to them. The "Earn Rate" is the number of ADDITIONAL reward miles that you will get by booking your airfare through this link.

I like Travelocity, and it has an Earn Rate of 2 extra miles. So I clicked on that and booked my airfare that way. I got exactly the same rate I had found independently of the portal, and (unlike some reward portals) there was no extra fee tacked on. So instead of the 2x points I would always get for buying the airfare with Barclay's, I get 4X points.

I assume that you can get the same kinds of deals for hotels, cruises, vacation packages etc.

Nationally Recognized